Pfft Pfft. Is this thing on?

So it’s been a day shy of seven months since my last post. Erm. Sorry about that.

As the blurry cell phone picture above shows, I’ve made some progress in the intervening months, but not nearly as much as I would’ve liked.

Money has been extremely tight. Moving out of your parents basement and insisting on writing for a living will do that to a person. But now I live in Wicker Park (That’s a neighborhood in Chicago, for those who aren’t familiar).  After 22 months of long distance, my girlfriend and I now share a loft I dare say is gnarly.My professional life is going fairly well and I’ve got some very nice clips under my best in recent months.

But enough about me, let’s get down to some hot typewrite action.

Basically, as you can see, the frame is painted the decals are on, and despite my very best efforts, the monitor actually works through that whole mess of wiring previously seen here:

I call it "Son of FrankenCircuit."

From there, it’s only a matter of getting the back on the monitor case. Of course, being ambitious, I’ve devised a way to make the Underwood Logo light up. That is seriously going to happen. It’s going to be a lot of work, but I can make it happen.

Then all I have to do is

1) build a small black box to hold all the circuitry

2) Attach the monitor to the frame (still working on the particulars) and

3) Find a cool way to mount and operate the controls for the monitor (Power switch, menu, contrast etc.)

…. and I do hate to say it, but there was a minor setback in the typewriter end. The circuitry bar on the bottom came lose, and I’ve got to do some reconfiguring there. Also, I’ve got to do some touch up painting on the monitor frame.

Things are going slow because I’m super busy with work and have no money to spend on Underwood even if I had the time to work on it. That being said, I want to accomplish two things in the upcoming winter: Reading every single word of Ulysses by James Joyce and finishing up this typewriter.

Wish me luck. I’ll need plenty.