In case you haven’t noticed a dearth of posts, Project Underwood fell into a finance-induced hiatus. I just bought a used car and haven’t had a time for fun things. I mean, aside from beer.

In the interim, I’ve been thinking about how I want to design the monitor. The easiest thing to do is to make the monitor frame out of 1 inch angle iron. But I don’t have the paint skills to make anything, and it would be tricky at best to use brass to replicate the design of the rest of the machine.

I thought it would be great to have the underwood decal seen here:

I love the graphic design here

On a whim, I googled “Underwood Typewriter decals” and found a nice page without any ordering information.

So I emailed the man behind the site. He’s a typewriter enthusiast who lives in the Netherlands and runs the virtual typewriter museum.

I was met with one of those amazing serendipitous experiences you can only find on the internet. I really found a kindred spirit: He’s a fellow newsman, a typewriter enthusiast, and a very decent person.

He’s agreed to help me out by printing out decals for the monitor frame.

This is a very rough mock up of what we’ve come up with:

Behold!

I’m also planning on having this on the top of the monitor frame:

And the logo on the left blown up and put in the middle of the back (think of the apple on a mac).

 

If I can actually pull this off, it’s going to be amazing, and I can’t thank Paul Robert enough for all of his help.